|| From Desert Floors To Mountain Tops ||

2010/2011 A year in review and a look into future

2010 was actually the year when it all started, I did my first solo trip of several day´s duration and I just loved it from the first steps on trail. I did some more and they where all great and a success in many ways. I raised this blog, which I really enjoy working on and I am thankful for every reader and comment.

When I was a child I always was fascinated and impressed when I heard storys from Canada and the United States. I also loved watching all those nature related movies from the great wild west. It was just a question of time when I would be able to go there and for what. After hundrets of kilometers I did this summer with and without my backpack I found out that the time is now and so I did some research for the right adventure and I guess I found it. I want to cross the United States by foot on a 4200km long trekking route called the Pacific Crest Trail (PCT) starting in Campo California heading north into Canada. I am very excited about this journey and I am thinking nearby every second of it. They speak of record snowfalls this year in the Sierras and the many other higher regions along the trail but I see this just as another challenge, starting in April.

Thanks for reading, more trips and less gear for 2011!!!

2 responses

  1. 🙂

    Best wishes for your upcoming hike on the PCT.

    You probably already know http://www.postholer.com to learn about this
    years tremendous snowpack.

    Looks like a bad snow year again (we had that in 2006 as well)

    You will need more food in the Sierras, be more cautious with the
    river crossings and will have an even more epic adventure
    🙂

    Kind regards

    Sauerkraut

    30. December 2010 at 21:06

  2. Just saw your comments on Postholer, and thought I’d check out your site. Fantastic stuff!! So great to see someone get so excited about being outdoors!

    he snow will be good this year…a lot of it, I live just 90 minutes from Tahoe, and wow…it is COLD and SNOWY right now!

    I’ll be starting the PCT right near the end of April, the last week to be exact. Hope to see you on the trail, and hope all goes well with your preparations!

    Dug
    http://thf2.wordpress.com

    18. February 2011 at 05:06

Leave a Reply

