|| From Desert Floors To Mountain Tops ||

Hiking the Crest, Agua Dulce to Kennedy Meadows (455 to 702, 29 days)

I am already in Kennedy Meadows while writing those sentences. Getting ready for the most exciting section of the trail, the Sierra Nevada. Winter 2010/2011 brought snow levels up to 185% than average.

A few days ago I had to rest 5 days in Agua Dulce at Hiker Heaven because my left ankle was swollen. My award for doing 450 miles in 21 days. But after that days it felt great to hit the trail again and I was able to do the same mileages again without problems so far. Thats why I am looking forward to the Sierras, they will slow me down. Giving me more time to think about the last 700 miles.

I had one day of freezing temperatures again and snowfall in the morning at the beginning of June right before i reached Hikertown. Next day brought perfect conditions for the stretch along the LA Aqueduct and the Mojave stretch. So it was just fine to walk trough with no big deal about heat. Its awesome how the vegetation changes along the way, from desert into pine woods and back again. Thats all for now got to do some things before heading out again. Hope you enjoy the pictures.

Gear works out really awesome so far, changed only my backpack for the Sierras, picked up the Bear Vault 500, Mikrospikes and the solo innernet for my MLD Duomid, they are doing great together so far.
Thinking of going for a titanium bush cooker after the Sierras but not sure if I should spend 80$ on it.

Leave a Reply

