|| From Desert Floors To Mountain Tops ||

The journey in between (Kennedy Meadows to Sonora Pass)

There was something different when I left Kennedy Meadows and it took me a while till I figured out what it actually was. It was silence and the rugged flat terrain of the kern river delta covered with frost. I knew the Sierras are ahead and I was ready for this more than ever. I did not run into any other people for two days until I arrived at Trail Pass. And I did ran into the right people at the right time. Because of the huge amount of snow that was falling until Mai, we had to navigate via gps and maps through most of the areas. Snow buried mountain passes, flooded meadows with huge trees fallen in winter storms and avalanches. I loved how the Sierras slowed me down. For me it was not anymore about doing as many miles as possible day per day.
Tricky river crossings, navigating up and down rock faces, icy slopes and flat areas where deep suncups made the progress of going forward really hard. But the reward was worth the hard work.

3 responses

  1. Ingo

    Hi Matthias,
    Impressive impressions again!
    At which altitude did you take the snowy “Virginia Canyon, Northern Yosemite” vid?
    Keep your beard well trimmed😉, looks good on you!

    Best,
    Ingo

    6. July 2011 at 11:53

    • matthiaskodym

      Hi Lang!
      Good to read you again, this was around 8000 feet.
      How is it going over there?

      cheers

      15. July 2011 at 02:21

      • Ingo

        Thanks for asking.
        I can’t complain any more than usual…😉
        Take care!

        Cheers,
        Ingo

        24. July 2011 at 20:46

Leave a Reply

