|| From Desert Floors To Mountain Tops ||

Midpoint to Etna, Northern California mile 1325 to 1610

What happened the last couple of weeks…After 450 miles of snow and offtrail hiking through the Sierra Nevada and Yosemite I got to the Midpoint of the Pacific Crest Trail a few days back. The midpoint is really nothing, just a pole with yellow letters on it right next to the trail. But it was a big thing for me to reach it. Even I had my first big lack of motivation just one day before. I thought about so many things which I could do instead of hiking for another 1325 miles. Than I remembered back, my thoughts which made want to do this, I remembered my strategy for the first 1325 miles and I remembered the good times I had so far on this trip. Now I am already 300 miles further north very close to the California/Oregon border and ready for the upcoming trail more than ever.I feel like I am in a really good shape for the state of Oregon which should allow big mileages and runs through wonderful areas like the Cascade Range. It still feels great doing this.

4 responses

  1. chris

    hirsch u r the sickest :> amazing photos, amazing trip. lotssaaaaaaaaa respect. gogogogo
    le gixulus -.-

    4. August 2011 at 11:47

  2. Hi Matthias

    awesome pictures!
    Keep going😉 At least we can enjoy all the type 2 fun here!
    sabi

    5. August 2011 at 12:56

    • matthiaskodym

      Haha I had to use google “type 2 fun” seems Iam out for too long🙂

      6. August 2011 at 22:54

    • matthiaskodym

      aaand just to make sure, its not type 2 fun, I know now what people ment with “you will have the time of your life”

      6. August 2011 at 23:29

Leave a Reply

