|| From Desert Floors To Mountain Tops ||

The micro adventure (first packraft)

I went on a dayhike yesterday. I shouldered my raft (alpackaraft/yukon yak) and hiked up my home mountain, Schneeberg to reach the Höllental on the other side. Thats the gorge which separates Schneeberg from Rax. The river is called Schwarza. It has a good mixture of whitewater which is not too strong that time of the year and nice slow flowing parts which are perfect to learn how to manoeuvre the raft.It is actually kind of simple. I was surprised how easy to handle it was. So I decided to go downstream a litte bit further than I first planned. I passed several whitewater sections and was happy to have the spraydeck attached to the boat. My backpack and shoes in front got wet but I stored all electronics and spare clothing waterproof on the inside of the pack. I saw that the upcomming section might be to narrow for floating through so I landed on this bank of gravel, ate lunch, dried the raft and packed it all up again to hike back where I came from. Really looking forward to include the raft in multiple day hikes in the future.

6 responses

  1. Sehr cool! Vielleicht kriegen wir ja einmal einen gemeinsamen Trip hin – so lange ich nicht durchs wildeste Wasser muss sondern aussen herum gehen kann😉

    7. October 2011 at 11:18

    • matthiaskodym

      Ja auf jeden Fall, meinst du geht es sich noch im Oktober/November aus?
      Würd gern nochmal das Boot verwenden heuer..

      7. October 2011 at 17:37

      • Geht sich sicher aus!

        11. October 2011 at 07:44

  2. Ja fein. Ein schönes Boot. Hätte meins auch in Gelb nehmen sollen. Naja vielleicht bekommt meine Freundin eins in gelb. Nutzt du eine Schwimmweste oder bist so gefahren???

    7. October 2011 at 12:56

  3. matthiaskodym

    Danke, nö hatte keine dabei, werd ich mir für wildwasser sicha zulegen!

    7. October 2011 at 16:12

  4. looks like a great river. enjoy!

    9. October 2011 at 23:35

Leave a Reply

